Luke’s Diner Comes To San Jose

Now I know what you are thinking. What does this have to do with coffee? I was thinking the same thing. My coworkers and I were talking earlier this week and one of them mentioned that Netflix was going to be converting over 200 coffee shops into Luke’s Diners nationwide the next morning via an article. My face was expressionless. I sat there thinking I was dumb for not knowing why that was a big deal. Apparently, Luke’s Diner is a fictional cafe that has been made popular in a TV show series called Gilmore Girls. Again, I was very clueless. I had to sneakily look up the show because I had no idea what it was about. Well anyway, the article that they had come across also mentioned that these coffee shops would also serve free coffee until noon. Two of those coffee shops were here in San Jose—Roy’s Station Coffee & Teas and Caffe Frascati.

So what did we do? We decided to move our weekly meeting location to Roy’s Station the next morning at 9am. Boy did we underestimate this event. Upon arrival, we noticed the line actually wrapped around the block. There was no way we were going to wait. We had work to get done and we were all coffee-deprived. Luckily I had my camera on me so I popped into the cafe and snapped a few quick photos of the action. There was a Luke’s Diner sign posted on the outside of the coffee shop. Baristas were clothed in plaid while also sporting Luke’s Diner aprons and hats. Customers got free coffee with Luke’s Diner sleeves. And apparently, if you were at the cafe early enough, you got coffee cups with quotes directly from the show. It was quite an event and I am positive that if I was a fan, I would have been all over that.

Here was one of my favorite quotes that I spotted on one of the coffee cups:

Everything in my life has something to do with coffee. I believe in a former life, I was coffee. – Lorelai (Gilmore Girls: A year in the Life)

Leave a Reply

